Spring in Mammoth Lakes

Yes, it’s true, I kind of abandoned this blog for awhile.  Yes, I have taken photos, but I have not posted them here.  Life got a little hectic, and photography was just not a priority.  Although, like I mentioned, I was taking photos – sometimes life just gets a little haphazard, family issues arise, and focusing on family comes first.

Now the dust is beginning to settle, and I realize how much I miss my camera. Yes, I shot a few family photos for Christmas cards – and done some headshots, but I miss doing photography for the fun of doing photography!  I originally explored photography as a fine artist, and ultimately, that is where my heart is.  I miss it!

Anyway, I realized I hadn’t taken photos of my daughter since she turned 9 – and she is already on the verge of turning 10!  Thought that would be a good excuse just to get out my camera and loosen up a bit.  My daughter is always a wonderful muse, and she is growing up too quickly!  So, it is good to get photos before she has completely grown.

We’ve been going up to Mammoth Lakes a lot lately, and my daughter snowboards. So, I thought I’d do a photo session with her in her snowboard gear!  Nothing fancy, she is wearing a jacket from K-Mart – but this is her style!  Many times when she was younger, I’d want to style her and pick her clothes, buy a fancy dress, etc.  This time, I just wanted to photograph her as is.  Even though I wanted to venture back into my photography, this time my core inspiration, was thinking as a mother – not a past art school student!  I know many years from now, this will be how I want to remember her.  Not in a fancy dress she never wore any other time.

We also stopped at Convict Lake on the way up.  We had never been before!  The scenery was stunning!  Well, my daughter snuck on some of my lipstick when I wasn’t paying attention – and even though I wiped it off, it left a bit of a stain!  Other than that, I just wanted to photograph her as is.  Okay, I admit it, I have a good looking kid, and between that and the scenery, I had fun doing photos again…

Leave a Reply

