Anise & Cyan

Since last time I tried to photograph Anise and Cyan, I was having technical problems and Cyan was ill, (although we still got a couple of good shots then!) we did a reshoot. Now that Cyan was healthy, I broke a sweat chasing him to get his photo! And he was not thrilled being held by mom when he had so many things to explore, but I still really liked the photos.

I also got to play with my new portrait lens, Nikon 50mm f/1.4G SIC SW Prime Nikkor Lens. I love it!

I have been reading a great book on photographing children, actually entitled exactly that, Photographing Children Photo Workshop: Develop Your Digital Photography Talent, by Ginny Felch. The author reminds its readers that for every great photo that you see in its pages, chances are that was not the exact photo the photographer was planning. Obviously you have to master technical control, and having a good rapport with kids is a must, but you are not going to be able to control the kids completely, and flexibility and the ability to creatively adapt is an important technique when photographing kids! I do have to remind myself when I see a great shot, I can’t just say, “Oh wait, hold that pose while I move the light over a bit!” You have to move FAST and get what you get and THANK GOD for digital photography where you don’t have to pay for processing anymore! But then again, sometimes what you get is a nice surprise and something better than what you were first thinking. In that sense, children make wonderful co-creators that keep each new situation fresh and alive. It’s great!

Anise is founder and creator of Anise Mouette. Besides creating really cute stuff, she also donates a portion of her profits to a really good cause – so check out her site!